With Reckless Abandon

All things that would catch me,

All things that would make me sleep,
All things that love me;

I irritate them with daydreams
Of things I’m scared of while I’m
Awake,
passing time like I’ve got a lifetime
Or two,
Floating away to where I’m
Not used to.

I’m a stranger to the familiar,
The recklessness of doing something
Not you,
Or close to,
Trying to live a life of seven plus
Two more days of catching
The blues,
I reckon

I’d live a day not knowing myself,
That knowing me right before life
Starts
Right before the stars were made,
Right before living itself.

Leave a Reply

